Mask wearing violation in Michigan costs up to $1,000 fine

0 136

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Michigan has reiterated the mask mandate inspite of the state Supreme Court’s judgement striking down the governor’s emergency orders on COVID-19.

Health authorities in the state recently issued an order of its own, also limiting social gatherings in most of Michigan

Life as we know it during this pandemic remains the same here in Michigan – if you’re going to a public place, you must still wear a mask, the statement read.

Three days after the state Supreme Court ruled Governor Whitmer did not have the authority to issue emergency orders to address COVID-19, the state Department of Health and Human Services issued similar orders on Monday.

“We are tired of the virus, but the virus is not tired of us,” Michigan state health director Dr. Robert Gordon said.

“I want to make clear today’s order is lawful under the Michigan supreme decision, the statement read.

“At indoor or outdoor gatherings, masks must still be worn. Wearing a mask must still be enforced by businesses and government offices, and schools. Only Region 6 is exempt, and just as before, the size of indoor gatherings will be limited,” Gordon said.

Stand Up Michigan co-founder and state co-chair of Unlock Michigan Ron Armstrong said more than 539,000 Michigan citizens stood up against an elected governor abusing her power.

“They’re not going to tolerate an un-elected bureaucrat continuing the abuse,” Armstrong said.

In the wake of the ruling, Monday night, the governor put out a video urging Michiganders to wear a mask and lawmakers to act.

“We all have to do our part,” Governor Whitmer said in a released video addressing Supreme Court decision.

“The CDC and experts agree these measures are crucial to slow the spread of the virus, to protect our frontline workers and keep our schools and small businesses open,” said Whitmer.

According to the state law, violation is a misdemeanor, punishable by six months in jail, a $200 fine or a civil fine of up to $1,000.

Gordon said the spread of the coronavirus can be reduced by 70 percent when masks are worn.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.